Media - who wants to talk about gold?

Hello to all in the Paydirt community.

I’m a journalist researching a long-form piece on individuals and gold in NZ - who’s mining it, who’s buying it, and all the big “why” and “how” questions around that. Don’t worry, I’m not from the NZME/Bauer crowd.

I’ve been reading through the forums here and it looks like there’s more to the story than I initially thought. Is there anyone who would be keen to have a chat with me and broadly run me through what’s happening in the gold community in NZ?

Flick me a message if so. Thanks in advance!

For starters the media/a journalist should do an article about how the right to pan/cradle/sluice gold on a recreational basis has been taken from the us. 99 percent of the population do not realize that from the first discovery of gold in New Zealand right up until the 1970s you could pay a token gesture, five shillings/fifty cents and obtain a Miners Right.

This meant that you could fossick for gold using a pan, cradle or sluice box and shovel within the bounds of those rivers with a marginal strip.

The all of a sudden the government took that right away on pretexts and put in their place virtually uselelss Public Fossicking areas. This effectively means that many people with gold holding streams in their own back yard have to travel 100ks to find less colours than they could find locally.

It means that you are breaking the law if you stop for a family picnic beside a stream and take your pan out to have an enjoyable afternoon panning.

Recreational panning has NO negative affect and any claims that it has is an excuse. Even the most minor of floods will do far more damage.

The Government will claim that we could never reintroduce the Miners Right as there would be a gold rush. This is total stupidity and nonsense - when gold suddenly increased in value from 1980 onward there was no rush - nothing changed - nothing at all.