Looking for somewhere for me and my 9-year-old to go in the Nelson region

Hey guys…
I’m new to joining the site but have been watching and reading for a while now.
I’ve been a part time Wanderer and panner for years with some good success panning around the Ross region, where I have ex in-laws… not sure if I’m still be welcome there which is a shame as they are really cool people…
Now in my 50s with a 9 year old son and we have just brought a very capable four-wheel drive soccer mum Nissan and gold monster 1000 and we’re looking for somewhere to go where we won’t get arrested in the Nelson and surrounding regions…
Was wondering about canvastown…or up the Sherry river out of the back of tapawera…
But I’ve just read the report about needing to get mining permits to go anywhere other than fossicking sites …
don’t want to be anyone’s claim without promotion…
but also just want to have a play in some of our New Zealand rivers without the man coming down on me…
So wondering has anyone got any suggestions of what me and the boy can do and where we can go…
Cheers.

1 Like

hi. sorry I cant help you but there are a lot of pretty understanding guys on here. someone will possibly let you on their claim. just keep checking back here. might not get replies instantly

1 Like

Cheers dude thanks for letting me know

I have a number of mining and exploration permits in the Golden Bay and Murchison area you are free to go anywhere on them as long as you only are panning metal detecting and sluicing no motorized equipment is allowed and you must get land owner permission for access if you have to go through private property. Permit numbers are. 41744, 41728, 60207 60162, 60302. There are good panning results to be had in the Maruia and Buller permits

12 Likes