Fluid Bed River Sluice. Any good? Any demand for them?

Hi y’all,
I’m pretty new to this little community of gold diggers, and I’ve only been shaking the pan for a short while. But recently, I’ve been looking at getting a little river sluice. After doing some research on the interweb, I’ve kinda sold myself on getting a fluid bed type design (High throughput, no classification and easy clean up). I’ve looked at Bazooka and Croc Gold Traps, but none of these guys seem to be making them any more. Makes me wonder if they are as good as people say, or whether they were just too expensive to produce.
This has lead me to decide to design my own fluid bed sluice based on the same principal. The big difference is that this will be an all aluminium design with stainless steel grizzly bars (I’m a metal fabricator by trade and there is too much plastic in the world already). The grizzly bars are different to previous designs and should create a low pressure behind them to allow the fines to drop down into the trap.
The design I have has a 10" inlet, 6" outlet, 7" trap, 30" long and weighs 3.5kgs.
Great White

So, my question to you guys and gals is,

Are fluid bed sluices any good?

Does any one have a claim that I could do some field tests on, especially somewhere with fines? (I’m not interested in keeping the yellow stuff I get. Just want to prove the concept.)

If I do a production run of these, who would be interested?

I’m based in Christchurch, but I do often get down to Alexandra.

I would love to hear your feedback on this, good or bad.

Thanks

Tim

2 Likes

Theyre a gimmick hence why no one sells them.

Everyone tries to reinvent the wheel to make a quick buck from the gullable, special sluices, mats etc. 99% of the issues with gold recovery is to do with the idiot searching for it/ feeding the sluice and not the actual box itself.

3 Likes