Was just wondering

Was just wondering if there was anyone in the north island that happen to have a claim in the north island that wouldn’t mind me having a wee bit of a jam just to get in a bit of practice before I go to the south and have a go down there I don’t mind flicking some coin for your troubles I just want to be prepared and get some experience before I go make a fool of myself in public as I’m new to this haha

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but there is 0 alluvial gold claims in the north island , that’s not to say there is no Alluvial gold up there .

Well that’s no good cause I don’t really wanna get caught digging around in a river

get sum river sand. lead cut up small various sizes , count the lead and put it in the sand . pan it all out and see if you get the same number you started with

1 Like

Or try panning some lead bird shot of different sizes. Because it is round the challenge for a newbie is to put say 30 into a pan with sand, gravel and lather rocks then pan the gravel out while retaining all the birdshot.

And there’s plenty of black sand to be found on the beach up there to add to the mix , if you can keep all your pellets panning in mix of black sand your going well , just don’t go getting any 00 shot as that mite be a little optimistic :wink:

There is a camping ground called dickys flat out of waihi you are aloud to pan in the river there

Is it a public fossicking area or a claim on which you are allowed to pan.

Is there actually any gold in the river

I have heard people getting fine gold there that hole area is a mining area backs onto Mt aroha and flows down into the gorge but like said fine it’s from the old days when they were mining they lost in most cases up to 40 or more percent

1 Like

Might have to go check it out on the weekend