Understanding the rules for beginners

I recently have moved to the West Coast, and newly armed with my gold pan I planned to set off into the hills for some prospecting for fun.

Except I don’t think that that’s allowed…

Am I correct in understanding that I need to buy the appropriate permit (I assume one would start with a prospecting permit), which appears to $3450.00. Despite not knowing what’s there (I am new to the region)…

Unless I stick to the public gold fossicking areas.

Is that right? If I just wander into the hills for fun (checking for existing claims and avoiding those of course) with my pan I am actually breaking the law?

Is that what happens in reality?

(if there is any ‘guide for beginners’ you can just point me there; I didn’t find any such thing)

Cheers!

I think you have to apply for an exploration permit first if you want to search a large area for gold, then you apply for a mining permit when you’ve found the spot you want to work for the next 10 years. Nope, NZ isn’t geared up for the hobby gold prospector at all, apart from the public fossicking spots, which can be pretty good.

However, when I’ve been stomping around in the bush I often come across sluice boxes and other tools hidden away. Hopefully these “illegal” miners are being conscientious and checking the permit maps to make sure they’re not playing on someones expensive claim first.

Maps:
NZPAM’s mining permit map
Paydirt gold mining permit map

You make a good point, a beginners guide could be a useful resource. When I get some spare time I should throw one together for the site.

1 Like

OK thanks for that. I’m glad I didn’t just wander off into the hills, I might have found myself in trouble…

I’ll be off to the nearest public fossicking area as soon as this lockdown lifts!

1 Like