The Taste of yellow

Good day
I am extremely new to gold start of this year to be exact, was hit in the head by a urge that hasn’t vanished.
Just had a few questions

1. Is it worth me going down south to the public fossicking places?
  2. Is there other ways of getting experience before forking out insane quantities of money on permits?
  3. I was thinking about trying that 3 day course through HuntingGoldAdventures has anybody tried it?
    4)Is the nz gold community extremely private or is there few of us not to be ?
    I have enjoyed reading alot of the topics on these forums and would be extremely grateful for any advice received thank you very much .

It is possibly best to get to know some of the gold fossickers on this site and see if they will host you to their spots for a day or two. They can show you the ropes and give you some hinters and pointers. Preferably someone with a claim who is happy to share with a beginner. There are several such generous guys here.

As for the gold fossicking areas - generally no BUT some good gold has been found at some of them but by and large by people who know the lie of the land, have experience and know where and how to look.

Good luck - theres a nugget or two out there waiting with your name on it.

3 Likes

Thank you for the advice means alot I’ve read alot of the forums and I can see what you mean alot or most of the guys on these forums seem pretty kind and generous with there words and advice .
I will definitely try and look out thank you Lammerlaw

1 Like

I have checked out a few of the public sites. For a rookie, I would recommend goldborough/waimea creek just north of Hoki. It’s shallow and you can always find gold. Some of the other sites are deep gravel and lots of rock. Before you break your back digging deep. Find out how much you like shoveling first. Buy a legal sized fossicking sluice, and have at it. You only learn from your own mistakes.

1 Like