Stony/Britannia or Moonlight

Hey guys, I’ve been browsing the forum for a while but this is my first post. Newbie looking for a bit of advice.

I’ve been to Stony/Britannia for a few hours crevicing some nice looking underwater bedrock in my wetsuit with no luck.

I now have a full day to try again on the 6th Feb but trying to decide between going back to Stony/Britannia or trying Moonlight. Is Moonlight suited to going for a swim? Any other advice? Happy for someone else to come out and join in too if they wanted.

1 Like

I personally haven’t had much luck at Britannia the two times I have been there, nothing with the detector and only very fine gold in the sluice, mind you being from the North Island I am no expert…
I have seen some nice pickers a guy got out of Moonlight whilst Sniping so its there if you know were to look you would have a much better chance there than Britannia…
There was a Guy living there in a Self Contained caravan if you ask him nicely he would point you in the right direction, I believe the best spots for Sniping aren’t that accessible but i guess they never are… Good luck wish I was able to get down South this year but unfortunately Im stuck in the North island…

1 Like

Thanks for that, big help. I’ve booked an Airbnb place in Blackball, just down the road from Moonlight Creek.

Any advice on parking, driving a 2WD ute? Am I able to get right up to the fossicking area?

I got all the way to the end with a corolla last autumn, :blush: just taking it slowly. so long as the track is dry you should be fine

1 Like

Moonlight is great place access is good. Better than Louis. You will be impressed.