Shag River Claim Holder

Hey guys,

I’m a PhD student from the University of Otago and am trying to track down the claim owner for the Shag River (permit no. 60023). Would anyone be able to provide me with his number? I’m not interested in gold, instead I want permission to sluice or even dredge (if I can find one to borrow) for heavy minerals such as sapphire, zircon and garnets that are known to occur within the Shag River gravels. I would happily give away all the gold recovered. There has been a little bit of research done on these minerals in the past and we (my supervisor and I) may be looking to expand on that if we can secure permission to collect more specimens. Alternatively if anyone has specimens they are willing to donate that would be fantastic.

You can look me up on the University of Otago website, my supervisor is Dr James Scott. This is currently a leisure-time project for me as my PhD research is focused around scheelite but it could be a really fun and interesting research topic for another student, if everything pans out :wink:

Thanks.

2 Likes

Have you done any research on Scheelite in the Top Valley Marlborough area?
Cheers

Using the NZP&M website:
http://data.nzpam.govt.nz/permitwebmaps?commodity=minerals

It gives these details…
Contact name: Clinton John Broomhall
Address: 2 Rose Street Timaru 7910 New Zealand

Send him a letter and he might get back to you :crossed_fingers:

Thanks a bunch Gavin, I obviously didn’t look there hard enough.