Metal Detectiing for Gold in Queenstown and Arrowtown

Hey guys,

First off, I’ve been reading a lot of these threads and it seems like a really helpful community here.
Okay, I just wanted some advise with metal detecting for Gold in the arrowtown/arthurs point area. I am a novice, Ive been out a few times now with no luck. I’ve done research and know where gold travels in the river, so have been doing those areas in the corners.
I wonder if its worth heading up into the mountains, in the valleys/ridges? Can nuggets still be anywhere on the flat ground in Arrowtown near the river? Does schist act as bedrock, can gold be trapped in the cracks?

Apologises of the bombardment of questions, just wanted some knowledge.

Thank you

Someone is sure to have some advice shortly.

Just becareful where you go, a large swarth of that area over the hills all the way to Glenorchy is tightly claimed. Check NZ PAM website
http://data.nzpam.govt.nz/permitwebmaps?commodity=minerals

There are many detectorists all over that area.
You might try thinking outside of the box. Get into a little known park or reserve, where someone has not detected the corners and a nugget may have been waiting for you to rescue it.
Some fresh ground is another good one, any roadworks? Ask them if you can detect their workings, or if a tree upturns - get in there!

1 Like

Go hard Outlaw. Show us ye finds.

Shady

Hi there, most easily detected gold was picked out of the arrow and shotover areas a long time ago, unless you have the latest detector with all the bells and whistles you’ll just end up feeding the sand flies. That’s not to say the odd nugget is still about though . but apart from a few small creeks all of the rivers from glenorchy to Cromwell are privately claimed and most guys take it seriously. Once you go out of the claim areas then your into mutt langes land and could be prosecuted (see previous posts about the new gold sheriff about)