Lake Wakatipu Diving!?

Hey,
I’m new to this stuff since talking to a miner last weekend… Now I am looking to try this stuff out and was wondering if I can combine my other hobby of scuba diving with finding gold…
The two fossicking areas of five mile creek and 12 mile creek end up in the lake… And my thinking is that gold should be sitting there on the bottom of the lake, right?
So, any experience with these things?
Cheers
Pax

1 Like

Oh… I just checked a depth chart of the lake… Looks like it goes over 100m of depth just 100m from shore… Still about 100m to check for gold!?

Yep, sure does.

JW :cowboy_hat_face:

Hmm… Looks like there’s no dive shop in Queenstown… So the closest one would probably be Milford sounds, which makes this quite challenging…

mate gold very heavy and its not just sitting on the bottom, Im a scuba diver to and carted a dive tank into the sluice box at Maruia many years ago , found a few flakes in berock crevices but not sur how much bedrock youd find at the bottom of wakatipu, but certainly a lot of gold would have been blown down those creeks into the lake , probably meters of overburden to get to any kind of hardpack , i have a portable floating compressor awesome for sniping rivers but dont give up your day job

2 Likes

At a hundred meters you’d be giggling at stones let alone the cold! :rofl:

3 Likes

Been there done that also. The speed of the water on the sluice box is impressive. I remember being slightly concerned after watching the stick i threw in off the swing bridge get sucked down and dissappearing before i jumped in, then the regultor being purged continously as the flow and pressure of the water acted on it.:melting_face::melting_face: Fun times.