Keen Hunter and Newbie Fossicker

Hi All. First time post, will start by saying Thank You to the sight creator and all the posters, I’m extremely grateful for all the great information and stories.

I’m brand new to fossicking, but hunt in the Otago inland mountains quite a bit. Hunting mainly occurs in the morning and evening, which leaves many hours in the day free for other activites. If I were keen to have a go at sluicing and panning, what equipment would I need to get started, bearing in mind that weight and size are considerations as I’m also carrying in my hunting and camping equipment? I currenly have an Elemental pan, garden sifter, and trowel, but haven’t yet picked up a sluice. Was thinking EZ Sluice, but also noticed the Gold Buddy.

Any advice or suggestions greatly appreciated (I’m aware of the public fossicking restrictions). I love the idea of bringing our a few grams of yellow along with a couple of hind quarters and a back steak!

Thanks!

Well i just got an EZ sluice and found it great on the fine gold , it had a loot of black sand in it witch is a right pain. need to set it up right then all good gold was sitting right at the start.

Buy yourself a light weight metal detector - a Gold Monster could be excellent, a light three or four inch plastic pipe with a clear perspex base to look in crevices under water, a light weight digging tool like a trowel, a pointed scratcher to scratch out crevices plus a bent ended screw driver to prize open small cracks and scratch them out as well and a small sucker bottle and tweezers plus a small bottle to put gold in - thats all you need if you are carrying rifle and ammo and other gear.

Great, thanks. Would the detector be used in place of a sluice, in order to find small nuggets? I had figured that most likely I’d be sluicing in streams for fine gold and flakes. Also, would be detector be used in/near the stream, or just around likely geological formations? Cheers