Help with a Minelab GPX 4500

I’m new to both this website and metal detecting. I inherited a Minelab GPX 4500 recently and have spent a few hours familiarising myself with it.I’ve trolled through YouTube videos and the like which have been helpful but there are a couple of issues I’d like to get sorted before I hit the hills. Is there anyone out there in Central Otago specifically Cromwell who owns or is familiar with this machine that would be willing to make contact with a view to getting me sorted?

Hi 8140,
The 4500 is a great machine, and you’re in the right part of the country to use it :grin:
You face two separate challenges,
a) learn how to use your 4500, get confident at selecting settings, interpreting the noises it makes, and recovering targets
b) identify + access locations where you can wave your coil over some detectable gold

I found these dvds very helpful with a)
https://outbackprospector.com.au/categories/dvds-books/dvds.html
Also check out this US forum which is heavily focussed on nugget detecting Metal Detecting & Gold Prospecting Forums - DetectorProspector.com
And last but not least, reading the manual is helpful!

Though new to detecting, do you have experience finding gold? If not, b) will be the challenging part.
In that case, if you know someone who knows someone, that you can tag along with prospecting for a day, even if they don’t use a detector, will help shorten the learning curve.

Research is also key, because the gold needs to be big enough to detect. Ideally you want shallow workings or streams that are known to have produced nuggety gold in the past

1 Like