Can I just metal Detect on any Public Land?

Hi,

I have been Prospecting for gold for a couple of years now , and have recently got my hands on a metal detector , but with the current events I have not been able to go gold prospecting so I have taken an interest into relic hunting with my detector after finding a few old relics in my backyard . I was thinking about going down to my local park and detecting there but the thing is i am not sure that is aloud . I have Seen other Coil Swingers , detecting in major parks near me , but I just thought I would clear it all up . I think it may be aloud as long as I don’t cause any damage . But do I need a permit or anything as with gold mining or can you just go detecting on any public land.

Also I was thinking of getting my hands on a pinpointer it seems to be a good piece of equipment to make detecting easier , do you guys think they are worth the investment or are they just a waste of money and not worth the time they save ?

And what Setting would be Optimal on the Gold Monster 1000 for Finding old Relics Such as Coins I was thinking I could just use Full to get maximum depth but there is a lot of random dings and it sometimes gives false signals and I would pick up a lot of trash .

Any info or Advice would be really appreciated .

Cheers - Dillon

1 Like