Any ChCh Detectors Around?

As absolute newbies about to buy our first detector, can anyone tell me where we can’t dig? Are public parks okay or are there restrictions? I mean, Hagley park would be off limits I’d imagine, but I saw a video of a guy digging around in Thompson park, Brighton so I guess thats okay? We have no idea whats off limits so any help/suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

The word ‘DIG’ made me think of Mike Mulligan and his Steam Shovel…it brings on the erroneous (I hope) assumption that you are going to dig holes. Do you think that maybe you should rephrase the word to ‘detect’ - to use the word ‘dig’ is to infer that we metal detectorists dig up places and casts an indictment against our hobby.
I detect for coins and when I find a ‘treasure’ I carefully remove it from the ground and fill the hole carefully so that no one notices my passing. Yes sure we dig but using the word ‘dig’ to some people gives an opener to make disparaging comments about our hobby.
Actually from what I have read and seen detectorists go to parks and camp grounds, A & P show grounds and race courses, to school yards and parks and as long as they do not leave nasty signs of their hobby no one seems to mind.
The only place out of bounds as far as I know are DoC reserves and things and I think that often as not is because DoC is mostly staffed by highly qualified text book expert no nothings with Gestapo like attitudes and a desire to bully others!

Haha…Fair enough. Can anyone tell me where I may not ‘detect’ please??

Millie the Bruce - Any relation to Robert? I dont know if I am out of order here - if I am then that happens all the time - I think you can detect any where more or less until someone tells you otherwise…usually they are up their arse, know all, wanna throw their weight about arseholes who take enjoyment out of being obnoxious.