8 inch dredge build

build an 8 inch dredge hoping to run it of 3 keene 500hp pumps and 13 hp honda motors wanting good suction any one done this who could give some advice thanks

was similar on trademe last year maybe google search images it may still show up. may have been a triple jet 6" now I think of it.

i remember seeing that mine is going to be a triple also just trying to get as much info as i can befor i do power jet cheers

Hi I’m no dredge expert but have seen that problems have arose with the gold overshooting with a high power 8 inch. Have seen a three way splitter on seperate tables and also longer sluices.
Good luck

Diesels from rie quip in motueka

Hey mate
Your best bet is to go a p1500 pump from Keene running on a 40hp motor on a diesel setup (kubota or similar) this will give you reasonable depth however if you want serious suck and hence greater productivity and depth ( less blocks) and wanting to with run a longer hose you can run x 2 p1500 on a 80-100 hp option in diesel. This will give you depth down to 50 feet.

If you want a petrol options going with 2 x 23 hp petrol’s using a p350s pumps will do well on an 8 and be essentially equivalent to 1 x p1500 pump.

The p500 keene pumps are a good pump but they are suited more for pressure and they will be underdone on a 8 inch setup if you want lots of suck. Plus running 3 x 13 hp petrol’s you will use a lot of fuel.

In terms of your powerjet setup id stay away from the triple jetlog setup. Your best to stick to a dual or if running 2 x p1500 a quad jet would be the best.

hope that helps

i agree with what your saying but im using 2 of the motors and pumps of my old 6 inch and have just bought the 3rd motor and pump already.do you think the suction want be good at 15 feet deep thanks for your advise