Getting started . new boy

Hi , not sure if i am in the right forum or not.I am curious to know where i can start looking.A bit of advice. Is it worth going to the areas that are set aside for fossicking. Would seem to me that they will be pretty busy places. Do you have to have a licence to go on doc land etc. From reading lots of comments i get the impression that one tries likely spots where you find them.,unless they are on private property or already claimed. would seem that knowing if claimed or not is not easy to check. I must say i am a late developer for this business. but i am suffering from a attack of nostalgia. there is a history of gold mining a way back in family… my father mined up the side of lake wakatipu during the depression. [late 1920s—early 1930s. kept the family of six fed … my grandfather mined in waiuta, [west coast] and up the skippers[queenstown] My efforts wont be with a pick and shovel though .[they were were hard men in those days] But i would like to try with a metal detector just to commemorate their memories. They found some gold Kept them alive… I would like to have a go… any advice would be grate fully received. Sorry for being so long winded. Regards, Old timer

Hi new boy, I am not one with a great amount of experience, however I have been to most of the public fossiking areas, of which there are 13, all in the south island, you can find out where they are from the Public Gold Fossicking Areas as shown at the top of the page under locations. follows is a little rundown of some of my experience.
Aurora river; need to be fitter than I, and 4wd is handy, I found a small amount of fines at the upriver by brown hut but the lower area was too hard for me to get down to.
Lyal; lots of sandflies but when you get up the creek ok with a sluice.
Slab Hut; wander up the river, its been flooding over winter, gold would of been washed down. a very nice place to camp, DOC camp.